Monthly eNewsletter from the IADC

Industry Experience Leads IADC Board into 2021

During the first ever Chairmanship vote held via Zoom, the IADC Board of Directors has elected Robert H. “Bob” Geddes, President and CEO of Ensign Energy Services, as the association’s 2021 Chairman.

Robert H. “Bob” Geddes

Robert H. “Bob” Geddes

Mr. Geddes has been with Ensign since 1991 and has served as President and CEO since 2007. Previously, he served as Vice President of Canadian Drilling from 1999 to 2004 and the President of Canadian Operations from 2004 to 2006. Mr. Geddes is a past Chairman of the Canadian Association of Oilwell Drilling Contractors and is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta. He is a graduate of the University of Alberta, where he earned his Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering.

Mr. Geddes will have Transocean Ltd.’s Jeremy Thigpen and Northern Drilling Ltd.’s Scott McReaken, serving as Vice-Chair and Secretary/Treasurer, respectively.

Jeremy Thigpen

Jeremy Thigpen

Transocean Chief Executive Officer since April 2015, Thigpen has previously served as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer at National Oilwell Varco, where he spent 18 years. During his tenure at NOV, Mr. Thigpen spent five years as the company’s President of Downhole and Pumping Solutions business and four years as President of its Downhole Tools group. He also served in various management and business development capacities, including Director of Business Development and Special Assistant to the Chairman. Mr. Thigpen earned his Bachelor of Arts in Economics and Managerial Studies from Rice University and completed the Program for Management Development at Harvard Business School.

Scott McReaken

Scott McReaken

Appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Northern Drilling Group in December 2018, Mr. McReaken had been a part of the Seadrill group companies since 2012, where he served as Chief Executive Officer and Director of Sevan Drilling Ltd and Chief Financial Officer of North Atlantic Drilling Ltd.

Mr. McReaken has over 15 years of experience in the offshore drilling industry, which includes various leadership roles in the United States, North Sea, West Africa and South America. Mr. McReaken began his career at Arthur Andersen LLP and is a Certified Public Accountant and Certified Internal Auditor. He holds a degree in business administration from The University of Texas at Austin and is a US citizen residing in Houston, Texas.

The Division VPs elected to the Board of Directors were:

Drilling Services Robin Macmillan, Robin Macmillan LLC

North America Onshore Scott McKee, Cactus Drilling Company

Offshore Brian Woodward, Noble Corp

International Onshore Jim Tolsma, Parker Drilling

More information on IADC’s 2021 Officers is available on our Leadership page.