Monthly eNewsletter from the IADC

IADC Hosts Washington D.C. Onshore and Offshore “Fly In”

Last week IADC hosted a Federal Fly-In in Washington, D.C. with eight representatives of onshore and offshore IADC Member companies. Over the course of three days, participants met directly with Members of Congress and the Administration to discuss specific legislative and regulatory proposals currently in-play, and their potential effects on drilling contractors and rig workers.

Representatives from IADC, Patterson-UTI, Transocean, Unit Drilling, and Kenai Drilling attended 32 meetings and campaign events, advocating for drilling contractors’ growing role in the global energy addition. Topics discussed include workforce shortages facing the industry, innovative technologies and new energy sources being developed by drillers, the SEC’s proposed climate disclosure rule, crewing & manning changes present in the House-passed USCG reauthorization, and current efforts towards a 2022 reconciliation package.

Bob Warren, IADC’s VP of Government & Industry Affairs, Onshore, gifting an IADC pin to Congressman Blake Moore (UT-01)

IADC Delegation standing in front of U.S. Capitol

IADC Delegation presenting Legislator Award to Congressman Pete Stauber (MN-8)

IADC Delegation presenting Legislator Award to Senator Ted Cruz (TX).

IADC Delegation finding some wait time outside the offices of Senator John Cornyn (TX)

During their 3-days visit to DC, the IADC Delegation met with 30 offices among the Executive and Legislative branches:

  • Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
  • U.S. Department of State
  • House Natural Resources Committee
  • House Ways & Means Committee
  • House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee
  • Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
  • Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV)
  • Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX)**
  • Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX)
  • Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)**
  • Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-OK)
  • Sen. Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
  • Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)
  • Rep. Garret Graves (R-LA)
  • Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-TX)**
  • Rep. Sylvia Garcia (D-TX)
  • Rep. Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX)
  • Rep. August Pfluger (R-TX)**
  • Rep. Pete Stauber (R-MN)**
  • Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK)
  • Rep. Kevin Hern (R-OK)
  • Rep. Blake Moore (R-UT)**
  • Rep. Stephanie Bice (R-OK)
  • Rep. Dina Titus (D-NV)
  • Rep. Dan Crenshaw (R-TX)
  • Rep. Dan Newhouse (R-WA)
  • Rep. Jerry Carl (R-AL)
  • Rep. Fred Keller (R-PA)
  • Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO)**
  • Rep. Ralph Norman (R-SC)

Additionally, the fly-in participants presented 30 IADC Legislator Awards to Members of Congress who exemplified significant support of rig owners in the 117th Congress:

  • Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
  • Senator Mitch McConnell
  • Senator Joe Manchin
  • Senator Lisa Murkowski
  • Senator John Barrasso
  • Senator Ted Cruz
  • Senator John Cornyn
  • Senator John Kennedy
  • Senator Bill Cassidy
  • Senator Jim Inhofe
  • Senator James Lankford
  • Congressman Henry Cuellar
  • Congressman Vicente Gonzalez
  • Congressman Garret Graves
  • Congressman Blake Moore
  • Congressman Yvette Herrell
  • Congressman Jerry Carl
  • Congressman Stephanie Bice
  • Congressman Pete Stauber
  • Congressman Doug Lamborn
  • Congressman Bruce Westerman
  • Congressman Fred Keller
  • Congressman Ralph Norman
  • Congressman Steve Scalise
  • Congressman Markwayne Mullin
  • Congressman August Pfluger
  • Congressman Dan Crenshaw
  • Congressman Kevin Brady
  • Congressman Kevin Hern
  • Congressman Dan Newhouse
  • Congressman Steven Palazzo