IADC Recognizes 30 Senators and Members of Congress with Legislator Awards

IADC Recognizes 30 Senators and Members of Congress with Legislator Awards

IADC Recognizes 30 Members of Congress with Legislator Awards

Houston (11 June 2018) –Last night, IADC honored 30 Members of Congress with the first IADC Legislator Awards, which recognized support for the drilling contractor industry in the 115th Congress.

“The upstream oil and gas industry is fortunate to have many supporters in Congress who understand the importance of drilling for oil and natural gas – two fuels that account for more than 66% of the U.S. total energy consumption,” said Jason McFarland, IADC President. “We are grateful for the support of these legislators, who have made time to meet with our members to better understand the drilling contractor industry and how we operate, and have also supported legislation that ultimately continues to enable America’s energy renaissance.”

The award reception was held in Rayburn 2075, and the awards were presented by IADC President Jason McFarland and IADC Chairman Steve Brady of Ensco.

“This industry literally provides the fuel that powers the U.S. and world’s economies. Yet, many insist that we should ‘keep it in the ground.’ Those who insist that just aren’t realistic about the amount of energy and types of fuels we consume in this country. The EIA expects demand for natural gas and oil will continue to increase until 2040 and the U.S. can supply that demand safely and with environmental stewardship, while also supplying jobs for our economy and taxes for state, local and federal governments,” said Liz Craddock, IADC Vice President, Government & Industry Affairs. This industry is so vitally important to virtually all other industries throughout our economy and IADC is grateful for the support of these Senators and Representatives who recognize the importance of having a strong upstream industry in the U.S.”

The following Members of Congress were recognized with the 2018 IADC Legislator Award:

Senator John Barrasso (R-WY)                     Representative Jeff Duncan (R-SC)

Senator Bill Cassidy (R-LA)                           Representative Louie Gohmert (R-TX)

Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)                        Representative Paul Gosar (R-AZ)

Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX)                               Representative Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX)

Senator Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)                 Representative Garret Graves (R-LA)

Senator Jim Inhofe (R-OK)                           Representative Gene Green (D-TX)

Senator James Lankford (R-OK)                  Representative Will Hurd (R-TX)

Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV)                       Congressman Evan Jenkins (R-WV)

Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)                   Congressman Mike Johnson (R-LA)

Representative Rob Bishop (R-UT)              Representative Doug Lamborn (R-CO)

Congresswoman Liz Cheney (R-WY)           Representative Markwayne Mullin (R-OK)

Representative Collin Peterson (D-MN)     Representative Steve Pearce (R-NM)

Representative Jim Costa (D-CA)                Representative Steve Scalise (R-LA)

Representative Kevin Cramer (R-ND)        Representative Bruce Westerman (R-AR)

Representative Henry Cuellar (D-TX)        Representative Don Young (R-AK)



Since 1940, the International Association of Drilling Contractors (IADC) has exclusively represented the worldwide oil and gas drilling industry. IADC’s mission is to catalyze improved performance for the drilling industry by enhancing operational integrity and championing better regulation to facilitate safer, cleaner and more efficient drilling operations worldwide. For more information, visit the IADC website at www.iadc.org.