Contractor of the Year Award

The IADC Contractor of the Year award was established in 1988 to recognize individual drilling contractors and their outstanding lifetime achievements in technical innovation, safety and economic efficiency within the drilling industry.

Sponsored by National Oilwell Varco, the award is the only one in the industry reserved solely for drilling contractors. All recipients are nominated and selected by IADC Drilling Contractor members.

2022 Recipient

Paul Mosvold, Scandrill

Paul Mosvold, President and COO of Scandrill, has been named 2022 IADC Contractor of the Year.

2021 Recipient

Andy Hendricks, Patterson-UTI

Andy Hendricks, President and CEO of Patterson-UTI, was named the 2021 IADC Contractor of the Year during the IADC Annual General Meeting in Dallas on 5 November.

2020 Recipient

Kevin Neveu, Precision Drilling

Kevin Neveu, President and CEO, Precision Drilling was recognized for outstanding lifetime achievement in technical innovation, safety, and economic efficiency within the drilling industry.

2019 Recipient

Steve Brady, Valaris

Steve Brady, Valaris, has been named the 2019 IADC Contractor of the Year. Mr Brady served as IADC Chairman in 2018, dedicating his term to outreach, competency and advocacy.

2018 Recipient

Trent Latshaw, Latshaw Drilling Company

In recognition of his years of service to both IADC and the drilling industry, Trent Latshaw, President of Latshaw Drilling Company, was presented with the 2018 IADC Contractor of the Year award in New Orleans, La., in November.

2017 Recipient

Tom Burke, Rowan Companies

Tom Burke was appointed CEO and elected a director of Rowan Companies in 2014 after serving as COO beginning in 2011 and as President beginning in 2013. Dr. Burke has been active in IADC for several years, serving as the association’s Chairman in 2016.

2016 Recipient

Mike Garvin, Patterson-UTI Drilling Company

Mr. Garvin was named the 2016 Contractor of the Year in recognition of his leadership, service and talent that has enhanced both IADC and the drilling industry as a whole. Further, Mr Garvin has been instrumental in collaborating with regulators on behalf of onshore contractors. Mr Garvin has served as IADC Division VP North America Onshore since 2015, and he currently leads the IADC Onshore Advisory Panel.